Chuck Wilson -

 All that is currently known  about George Shaw, Sr. is that he came from Massachusetts,  settled in Attica, Wyoming County, New York, and married Jane  (maiden name unknown) about 1815.  They had eight children as follows:
1. Cassandra P. Shaw, born Saturday, 14 September 1816.
2. John Shaw, born Tuesday, 27 July 1819.  Died Saturday, 29 February 1840.
3. Two daughters,  born Tuesday, 14 August 1821. Died, Thursday, 23 August      1821.
4. George Shaw, born Sunday, 18 May 1823.  Married Mary Jane McWain        1851.  Died, Tuesday, 26 August 1902.
5. Warren Shaw,  born Saturday, 29 Oct 1825, married Mary (Nannie) Burton of Kentucky on 9 January 1855.  He died 2 May 1902.  The 1860 Missouri census for Platte County, City of Weston lists Warren Shaw as a furniture dealer.  The same census shows Emma Shaw, his daughter, age 3 attending school and living with J. P. Erickson, a druggist.   Warren had four children: Emma Shaw, born 11 Sep 1856, married Charles Sumner 23 Jan 1878, died 5 Aug 1939;  Charles C.  Shaw, born 15 Oct 1860,  died 5 April 1868;  Belle Shaw, born 17 Jan 1865, married Calvin  Topliff Wright 4 May 1892; Edward Robinson Shaw born 29 Jul 1870 married Mary Baker 22 Aug 1900.  "Corfu.  EDWARD R. SHAW, 67, of  Chicago,  publisher of "The Practical Engineer” magazine and  a native of Corfu, died at a sanitarium in Tucson, Arizona at 6 o’clock last evening following a long illness with arthritis. Born  Corfu,  29 Jul 1870, son of Warren and Mary Burton Shaw, he was  employed as a young man by Geo. A. Porter of Corfu and also worked  in Rochester and Buffalo before going to New York where he   worked for the J. S. McGraw Publishing Co.  Survived by his wife  Mary Baker Shaw of Rockford,  IL,  2 sisters, Mrs. Emma Sumner of Corfu and Mrs. Belle Wright of Alden and several nieces and nephews."
6. Edwin Shaw, born Tuesday, 9 March 1830.  Married Ellen McWain on 10 April 1859. Died Saturday, 24 March 1866.
7. O. Fayette Shaw,  born Monday, 16 November 1835.  Lived in Dansville, Michigan.

Back to Genesee Archives